26-28 June - Transversal competences in education and training: from discourses to practices

Conference Topic

Transversal competencies in education and training: from discourses to practices

In contemporary Western societies, transversal competencies (or soft skills) are often regarded as essential resources that should enable greater flexibility and faculty to adapt to the rapid changes in society.

In the world of education, the topic of soft skills is recurring, not to say fashionable. Such skills would enable people to be prepared for the adult world and particularly for the world of work.

Moreover, such skills are the subject of increasing categorization and formalization and find their way into various programs and curricula as objectifiable, identifiable and consequently learnable competencies. In particular, the scientific (and non-scientific) literature abounds with definitions and lists with respect to such transversal competencies: what they should be, what their nature would be, how they should be promoted and/or developed. Despite this centrality, transversal competencies remain a polysemous universe, a theoretical and discursive construct that is not easy to understand. They are often brandished as a miraculous solution to address complex problems and tend to represent an educational and training injunction full of promise and potential that in stages of application, however, often results in approaches still tied to more traditional disciplinary goals and content.

If indeed such competencies are useful skills to be developed and applied both in school and in daily life, it is also important to go beyond rhetorical definitions and applications of immediate use and give oneself the time and means to analyze and understand those obstacles, critical aspects and more generally those areas of tension that the many discourses on transversal skills tend to hide.

In this sense, the Conference of the Swiss Society for Research in Education 2024 aims to provide a privileged opportunity to discuss transversal competencies in depth and critically, to understand their real and concrete role in the world of education and training, to thematize their best practices and ways of development, and to identify and grasp the real benefits they could bring in education and training.

26-28 juin - Les compétences transversales dans l'éducation et la formation : des discours aux pratiques

Thème du congrès

Les compétences transversales dans l'éducation et la formation : du discours à la pratique

Dans les sociétés occidentales contemporaines, les compétences transversales (ou soft skills) sont souvent considérées comme des ressources essentielles qui devraient permettre une plus grande flexibilité et la capacité de s'adapter aux changements rapides de la société.

Dans le monde de l'éducation, le thème des compétences transversales est récurrent, pour ne pas dire à la mode. Ces compétences prépareraient les individus au monde adulte et en particulier à celui du travail.

Aussi, elles font l'objet d'une catégorisation et d'une formalisation croissantes, et trouvent leur place dans les différents programmes et curricula en tant que compétences objectivables, identifiables et par conséquent entraînables En particulier, la littérature regorge de définitions et de listes de ces compétences transversales : ce qu'elles devraient être, quelle est leur nature, comment elles devraient être promues et/ou développées. . Malgré cette centralité, les compétences transversales restent un univers polysémique, une construction théorique et discursive qui n'est pas facile à comprendre. Elles sont souvent brandies comme une solution miraculeuse pour aborder des problèmes complexes et tendent à représenter une injonction éducative et de formation pleine de promesses et de potentiel, qui, cependant, dans les phases d'application, se traduit souvent par des approches encore liées à des objectifs et à des contenus disciplinaires plus traditionnels.

Si de telles compétences sont effectivement utiles dans le monde de l'école et dans la vie quotidienne, il est également important aller au-delà des définitions rhétoriques et des applications d'usage immédiat et se donner le temps et les moyens d'analyser et de comprendre les obstacles, les aspects critiques et, plus généralement, les zones de tension que les nombreux discours sur les compétences transversales tendent à occulter.

Le Congrès de la Société suisse de recherche en éducation 2024 entend offrir une occasion privilégiée de discuter des compétences transversales de manière approfondie et critique, de comprendre le rôle réel et concret qu'elles jouent dans le monde de l'école et de la formation, de thématiser les bonnes pratiques et les moyens de les développer, ainsi que d'identifier et de saisir les bénéfices réels qu'elles pourraient apporter dans les sphères de l'éducation et de la formation.