26-28 June - Transversal competences in education and training: from discourses to practices

Keynote speakers

We are pleased to present the invited keynote speakers Their expert insight will provide us with an opportunity to consider the topic of soft skills critically, constructively, and innovatively.

Jessica McCrory Calarco

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Jessica Calarco is an Associate Professor of Sociology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her research uses qualitative and mixed methods to reveal the power of privilege in families and schools and the myths that justify that power.

Calarco is the recipient of numerous early career, teaching, and publication awards. Her first book, "Negotiating Opportunities: How the Middle Class Secures Advantages in School," received the Pierre Bourdieu Award for best book in the Sociology of Education. Her most recent book, "Qualitative Literacy: A Guide to Evaluating Ethnographic and Interview Research," won the Outstanding Publication Award for best book in Methodology. Calarco is also the author of "A Field Guide to Grad School: Uncovering the Hidden Curriculum," and her fourth book, "Holding It Together: How Women Became America's Social Safety Net," will be published in 2024 with Penguin Random House.

As an active public scholar, Calarco not only publishes her work in prestigious academic journals, including the American Sociological Review, the Annual Review of Sociology, the American Educational Research Journal, Educational Researcher, and Social Psychology Quarterly, but has also written for high-profile media outlets, including the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Atlantic, Inside Higher Ed, CNN, and NBC News.

Christine Künzli David and Federica Valsangiacomo

Pädagogische Hochschule der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz

Prof. Dr. Christine Künzli David trained as a primary school teacher and later studied education, psychology, and general ecology at the University of Bern. From 1997 to 2007, she worked as a research assistant at the "Interfakultären Koordinationsstelle für Allgemeine Ökologie (IKAÖ)" at the University of Bern. From 1998 to 2004, she worked as a lecturer at various teacher training institutes. From 2004 to 2007, she co-managed the research sector "Education and Sustainable Development" at the institute preceding PH FHNW, and in 2008, she took over the chair of "Bildungstheorien und interdisziplinerer Unterricht" at PH FHNW. As the chair director, she worked for several years on the topic of interdisciplinary teaching and, along with her team, developed the concept of cross-curricular teaching. Her research focuses on education in the context of sustainable development and teaching in the first cycle (Zyklus 1). Since 2021, she has been directing the "Kindergarten-/Unterstufe (IKU)" Institute at PH FHNW, which has identified cross-curricular teaching as a specific focus of the institute.

Federica Valsangiacomo (M.Sc.) studied educational sciences with a specialization in educational psychology and early childhood education and counseling at the University of Fribourg (CH). For over 10 years, she has been teaching and conducting research at the PH FHNW. Her primary focus is on education in the context of sustainable development and on inter- and transdisciplinarity, particularly issues related to interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary education and the design of interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary processes. She personally oversaw the development of the concept of cross-curricular teaching. Since 2021, she has taken on the interim direction of the chair "Bildungstheorien und interdisziplinärer Unterricht" and the "BNE-LAB" (ESS-LAB) at the institute. In her doctoral thesis, which is nearing completion, she analyzes decision-making processes in the context of sustainable development.

Chrysi Rapanta

Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Dr. Chrysi Rapanta works as a Senior Researcher and Invited Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities of the Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal She has a Phd in Communication from the Università della Svizzera italiana, focusing on e-learning design and development. She has worked and lived in Greece, Spain, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates and Portugal. Her background is highly interdisciplinary combining the fields of Communication, Philosophy, and Education. Since 2015, she has been conducting research at the Laboratory of Argumentation, Cognition and Language of the NOVA Institute of Philosophy. A great part of her work focuses on teaching teachers of different levels and disciplines about concrete methods and tools that can be applied to foster the development of critical thinking skills among their students. Her work has been extensively published in prestigious scientific journals such as the Review of Educational Research, Teaching and Teacher Education, British Journal of Educational Technology, and Educational Psychology Review. She has been the principal researcher in several national and international research projects focusing on topics related to dialogic and argument-based teaching, digital education, active citizenship, and cultural literacy. Her name appears in the World's Top 2% Scientists List for 2021, supported by Scopus.

Gian Piero Quaglino

Università di Torino, IPAP

Prof. Gian Piero Quaglino is an eminent contemporary psychologist who has made pioneering contributions to the field of psychology. He worked for over thirty years as a Full Professor of Social Psychology, Dynamic Psychology, and Educational Psychology at the University of Turin, where he also served as the Faculty’s Dean from 2003 to 2008. In 2014, he founded the Institute of Analytical Psychology and Psychotherapy (IPAP) within the School of Psychotherapy, where he directs the School of Continuing Education, organizing seminars on adult life and personal development.

Quaglino is a prolific author of essays, manuals, and texts that blend literature and non-fiction. He is well-known for his publications on education and leadership, including "Fare Formazione" (1985; new edition 2005), "Leadership" (1999), "La scuola della vita, Manifesto della Terza formazione" (2011) and Formazione. I metodi” (2014). As an expert scholar of C.G. Jung's thinking, he has edited collections of aphorisms and published works in collaboration with other authors in the field of Jungian psychology. His dedication to exploring the depths of the human psyche has made him a prominent figure in contemporary psychology.

26-28 juin - Les compétences transversales dans l'éducation et la formation : des discours aux pratiques

Keynote speakers

Nous avons le plaisir de présenter les conférencières et le conférencier invité·e·s suivant·e·s qui animeront les séances plénières prévues au programme. Leur regard expert nous permettra d'aborder le thème des compétences transversales d'une manière critique, constructive et innovante.

Jessica McCrory Calarco

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Jessica Calarco est Professeure Associée de Sociologie à l'Université du Wisconsin-Madison. Sa recherche utilise des méthodes qualitatives et mixtes pour révéler le pouvoir du privilège au sein des familles et des écoles, ainsi que les mythes qui justifient ce pouvoir.

Calarco est lauréate de nombreux prix pour sa carrière prometteuse, pour ses enseignements et pour ses publications. Son premier livre, "Negotiating Opportunities: How the Middle Class Secures Advantages in School," a reçu le Prix Pierre Bourdieu du meilleur livre en sociologie de l'éducation. Son livre le plus récent, "Qualitative Literacy: A Guide to Evaluating Ethnographic and Interview Research," a remporté le Prix de la meilleure publication en méthodologie. Calarco est également l'auteure de "A Field Guide to Grad School: Uncovering the Hidden Curriculum," et son quatrième livre, "Holding It Together: How Women Became America's Social Safety Net," sera publié en 2024 chez Penguin Random House.

En tant que chercheuse active, Calarco publie non seulement ses travaux dans des revues académiques de renom, notamment l'American Sociological Review, l'Annual Review of Sociology, l'American Educational Research Journal, Educational Researcher et Social Psychology Quarterly, mais a également écrit pour des médias de haut niveau, notamment le New York Times, le Washington Post, l'Atlantic, Inside Higher Ed, CNN et NBC News.

Christine Künzli David et Federica Valsangiacomo

Pädagogische Hochschule der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz

Prof. Dr. Christine Künzli David s'est formée en tant qu'enseignante d'école primaire, puis a étudié l'éducation, la psychologie et l'écologie générale à l'Université de Berne. De 1997 à 2007, elle a travaillé en tant qu'assistante de recherche au sein de l' « Interfakultären Koordinationsstelle für Allgemeine Ökologie (IKAÖ) » de l'Université de Berne. De 1998 à 2004, elle a été enseignante dans divers instituts de formation des enseignants. De 2004 à 2007, elle a co-dirigé le secteur de recherche « Éducation et développement durable » à l'institut précédant la PH FHNW, puis en 2008, elle a pris en charge la chaire « Bildungstheorien und interdisziplinerer Unterricht » à la PH FHNW. En tant que directrice de cette chaire, elle a travaillé pendant plusieurs années sur le thème de l'enseignement interdisciplinaire et, avec son équipe, a développé le concept d'enseignement transversal. Ses recherches se concentrent sur l'éducation dans le contexte du développement durable et sur l'enseignement au premier cycle (Zyklus 1). Depuis 2021, elle dirige l'Institut « Kindergarten-/Unterstufe (IKU) » de la PH FHNW, qui a identifié l'enseignement transversal comme un axe spécifique de l'institut.

Federica Valsangiacomo (M.Sc.) a étudié Sciences de l'éducation avec une spécialisation en psychopédagogie, éducation et conseil à la petite enfance à l'Université de Fribourg (CH). Depuis plus de 10 ans, elle enseigne et mène des recherches à la PH FHNW. Son domaine de spécialisation porte principalement sur l'éducation dans le contexte du développement durable et sur l'inter- et la transdisciplinarité, en particulier les questions liées à l'éducation inter- et transdisciplinaire et à la conception de processus inter- et transdisciplinaires. Elle a personnellement supervisé le développement du concept d'enseignement transversal. Depuis 2021, elle assure la direction par intérim de la chaire "Bildungstheorien und interdisziplinärer Unterricht" et du "BNE-LAB" (ESS-LAB) de l'institut. Dans le cadre de sa thèse de doctorat, qui est sur le point d'être achevée, elle analyse les processus de prise de décision dans le contexte du développement durable.

Chrysi Rapanta

Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Dr. Chrysi Rapanta travaille en tant que Chercheuse Senior et Professeure invitée à la Faculté des Sciences Sociales et Humaines de l'Universidade Nova de Lisbonne, au Portugal. Elle détient un doctorat en Communication de l'Università della Svizzera italiana, avec une spécialisation dans la conception et le développement de l'apprentissage en ligne. Elle a travaillé et vécu en Grèce, en Espagne, en Suisse, aux Émirats arabes unis et au Portugal. Son parcours est hautement interdisciplinaire, combinant les domaines de la communication, de la philosophie et de l'éducation. Depuis 2015, elle mène des recherches au Laboratoire d'Argumentation, de Cognition et de Langage de l'Institut de Philosophie NOVA. Une grande partie de son travail se concentre sur la formation des enseignant·e·s de différents niveaux et disciplines, en leur transmettant des méthodes et des outils concrets qu'ils peuvent appliquer dans le but de développer les compétences de raisonnement critique de leurs élèves. Son travail a été largement publié dans des revues scientifiques prestigieuses telles que la Review of Educational Research, Teaching and Teacher Education, le British Journal of Educational Technology et l'Educational Psychology Review. Elle a été chercheuse principale dans plusieurs projets de recherche nationaux et internationaux axés sur l'enseignement basé sur l'argumentation, l'éducation numérique, la citoyenneté active et l’interculturalité. Son nom figure sur la World's Top 2% Scientists List for 2021, soutenue par Scopus.

Gian Piero Quaglino

Università di Torino, IPAP

Le Prof. Gian Piero Quaglino est un éminent psychologue contemporain qui a laissé une empreinte pionnière dans le domaine de la psychologie. Il a travaillé pendant plus de trente ans en tant que professeur ordinaire de psychologie sociale, de psychologie dynamique et de psychologie de la formation à l'Université de Turin, où il a également été Doyen de la faculté de 2003 à 2008. En 2014, il a fondé l'Institut de Psychologie Analytique et de Psychothérapie (IPAP) au sein de l'École de spécialisation en psychothérapie, dirigeant l'École de formation qui organise des séminaires sur la vie adulte et le développement personnel.

Auteur prolifique, Quaglino a publié des essais, des manuels et des textes qui conjuguent littérature et essai. Il est connu pour ses publications sur la formation et le leadership, notamment "Fare Formazione" (1985; nouvelle édition 2005), "Leadership" (1999), "La scuola della vita, Manifesto della Terza formazione" (2011) et Formazione. I metodi” (2014). En tant que chercheur expert sur la pensée de C.G. Jung, il a édité des recueils d'aphorismes et publié des ouvrages en collaboration avec d'autres auteurs dans le domaine de la psychologie jungienne. Son dévouement à l'exploration des profondeurs de la psyché humaine en a fait une figure importante dans le domaine de la psychologie contemporaine.