26-28 June - Transversal competences in education and training: from discourses to practices

Keynote speakers

We are pleased to present the invited keynote speakers Their expert insight will provide us with an opportunity to consider the topic of soft skills critically, constructively, and innovatively.

Jessica McCrory Calarco

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Jessica Calarco is an Associate Professor of Sociology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her research uses qualitative and mixed methods to reveal the power of privilege in families and schools and the myths that justify that power.

Calarco is the recipient of numerous early career, teaching, and publication awards. Her first book, "Negotiating Opportunities: How the Middle Class Secures Advantages in School," received the Pierre Bourdieu Award for best book in the Sociology of Education. Her most recent book, "Qualitative Literacy: A Guide to Evaluating Ethnographic and Interview Research," won the Outstanding Publication Award for best book in Methodology. Calarco is also the author of "A Field Guide to Grad School: Uncovering the Hidden Curriculum," and her fourth book, "Holding It Together: How Women Became America's Social Safety Net," will be published in 2024 with Penguin Random House.

As an active public scholar, Calarco not only publishes her work in prestigious academic journals, including the American Sociological Review, the Annual Review of Sociology, the American Educational Research Journal, Educational Researcher, and Social Psychology Quarterly, but has also written for high-profile media outlets, including the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Atlantic, Inside Higher Ed, CNN, and NBC News.

Christine Künzli David and Federica Valsangiacomo

Pädagogische Hochschule der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz

Prof. Dr. Christine Künzli David trained as a primary school teacher and later studied education, psychology, and general ecology at the University of Bern. From 1997 to 2007, she worked as a research assistant at the "Interfakultären Koordinationsstelle für Allgemeine Ökologie (IKAÖ)" at the University of Bern. From 1998 to 2004, she worked as a lecturer at various teacher training institutes. From 2004 to 2007, she co-managed the research sector "Education and Sustainable Development" at the institute preceding PH FHNW, and in 2008, she took over the chair of "Bildungstheorien und interdisziplinerer Unterricht" at PH FHNW. As the chair director, she worked for several years on the topic of interdisciplinary teaching and, along with her team, developed the concept of cross-curricular teaching. Her research focuses on education in the context of sustainable development and teaching in the first cycle (Zyklus 1). Since 2021, she has been directing the "Kindergarten-/Unterstufe (IKU)" Institute at PH FHNW, which has identified cross-curricular teaching as a specific focus of the institute.

Federica Valsangiacomo (M.Sc.) studied educational sciences with a specialization in educational psychology and early childhood education and counseling at the University of Fribourg (CH). For over 10 years, she has been teaching and conducting research at the PH FHNW. Her primary focus is on education in the context of sustainable development and on inter- and transdisciplinarity, particularly issues related to interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary education and the design of interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary processes. She personally oversaw the development of the concept of cross-curricular teaching. Since 2021, she has taken on the interim direction of the chair "Bildungstheorien und interdisziplinärer Unterricht" and the "BNE-LAB" (ESS-LAB) at the institute. In her doctoral thesis, which is nearing completion, she analyzes decision-making processes in the context of sustainable development.

Chrysi Rapanta

Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Dr. Chrysi Rapanta works as a Senior Researcher and Invited Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities of the Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal She has a Phd in Communication from the Università della Svizzera italiana, focusing on e-learning design and development. She has worked and lived in Greece, Spain, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates and Portugal. Her background is highly interdisciplinary combining the fields of Communication, Philosophy, and Education. Since 2015, she has been conducting research at the Laboratory of Argumentation, Cognition and Language of the NOVA Institute of Philosophy. A great part of her work focuses on teaching teachers of different levels and disciplines about concrete methods and tools that can be applied to foster the development of critical thinking skills among their students. Her work has been extensively published in prestigious scientific journals such as the Review of Educational Research, Teaching and Teacher Education, British Journal of Educational Technology, and Educational Psychology Review. She has been the principal researcher in several national and international research projects focusing on topics related to dialogic and argument-based teaching, digital education, active citizenship, and cultural literacy. Her name appears in the World's Top 2% Scientists List for 2021, supported by Scopus.

Gian Piero Quaglino

Università di Torino, IPAP

Prof. Gian Piero Quaglino is an eminent contemporary psychologist who has made pioneering contributions to the field of psychology. He worked for over thirty years as a Full Professor of Social Psychology, Dynamic Psychology, and Educational Psychology at the University of Turin, where he also served as the Faculty’s Dean from 2003 to 2008. In 2014, he founded the Institute of Analytical Psychology and Psychotherapy (IPAP) within the School of Psychotherapy, where he directs the School of Continuing Education, organizing seminars on adult life and personal development.

Quaglino is a prolific author of essays, manuals, and texts that blend literature and non-fiction. He is well-known for his publications on education and leadership, including "Fare Formazione" (1985; new edition 2005), "Leadership" (1999), "La scuola della vita, Manifesto della Terza formazione" (2011) and Formazione. I metodi” (2014). As an expert scholar of C.G. Jung's thinking, he has edited collections of aphorisms and published works in collaboration with other authors in the field of Jungian psychology. His dedication to exploring the depths of the human psyche has made him a prominent figure in contemporary psychology.

26-28 Juni - Transversale Kompetenzen in der allgemeinen und beruflichen Bildung: vom Diskurs zur Praxis

Keynote speakers

Wir freuen uns, die folgenden Gastrednerinnen und Gastredner vorstellen zu dürfen. Sie werden die geplanten Plenarsitzungen beleben. Ihr Expertenblick wird es uns ermöglichen, das Thema der transversalen Kompetenzen auf eine kritische, konstruktive und innovative Weise anzugehen.

Jessica McCrory Calarco

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Jessica Calarco ist eine ausserordentliche Professorin für Soziologie an der University of Wisconsin-Madison. Ihre Forschung nutzt qualitative und gemischte Methoden, um die Macht des Privilegs in Familien und Schulen sowie die Mythen, die diese Macht rechtfertigen, aufzudecken.

Calarco hat zahlreiche Auszeichnungen für ihre frühe Karriere, Lehre und Veröffentlichungen erhalten. Ihr erstes Buch,"Negotiating Opportunities: How the Middle Class Secures Advantages in School," erhielt den Pierre Bourdieu Award für das beste Buch in der Soziologie der Bildung. Ihr neuestes Buch, "Qualitative Literacy: A Guide to Evaluating Ethnographic and Interview Research," wurde mit dem Outstanding Publication Award für das beste Buch in der Methodologie ausgezeichnet. Calarco ist auch die Autorin von "A Field Guide to Grad School: Uncovering the Hidden Curriculum," und ihr viertes Buch, "Holding It Together: How Women Became America's Social Safety Net," wird 2024 bei Penguin Random House veröffentlicht.

Als aktive Wissenschaftlerin veröffentlicht Calarco nicht nur ihre Arbeiten in angesehenen wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften, darunter die American Sociological Review, das Annual Review of Sociology, das American Educational Research Journal, Educational Researcher und Social Psychology Quarterly, sondern hat auch für renommierte Medien geschrieben, darunter die New York Times, die Washington Post, das Atlantic, Inside Higher Ed, CNN und NBC News.

Christine Künzli David und Federica Valsangiacomo

Pädagogische Hochschule der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz

Prof. Dr. Christine Künzli David, absolvierte zunächst die Ausbildung zur Primarlehrerin und studierte anschliessend Erziehungswissenschaft, Psychologie und Allgemeine Ökologie an der Universität Bern. Von 1997 bis 2007 arbeitete sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Interfakultären Koordinationsstelle für Allgemeine Ökologie (IKAÖ) der Universität Bern. Von 1998 bis 2004 war sie als Dozentin an verschiedenen Lehrer*innenausbildungsinstitutionen tätig. Von 2004 bis 2007 leitete sie als Co-Leiterin den Forschungsschwerpunkt «Bildung und Nachhaltige Entwicklung» an einer Vorgängerinstitution der PH FHNW und im Jahr 2008 übernahm sie die Leitung der Professur Bildungstheorien und interdisziplinärer Unterricht an der PH FHNW. Als Leiterin der Professur beschäftigte sie sich über mehrere Jahre mit dem Thema des fächerübergreifenden Unterrichts und begründete gemeinsam mit ihrem Team das Konzept des transversalen Unterrichtens. Schwerpunkte Ihrer Forschungsarbeit liegen in den Themenbereichen Bildung im Kontext einer Nachhaltigen Entwicklung sowie Unterricht im Zyklus 1. Seit 2021 ist sie Leiterin des Instituts Kindergarten-/Unterstufe (IKU) der PH FHNW, welches das Thema des «transversalen Unterrichtens» als institutsspezifischen Schwerpunkt ausweist.

Federica Valsangiacomo (M.Sc.) studierte Erziehungswissenschaften mit den beiden Schwerpunkten Pädagogische Psychologie und Frühkindliche Bildung und Beratung an der Universität Freiburg (CH). Seit über 10 Jahren lehrt und forscht sie an der PH FHNW. hre inhaltlichen Schwerpunkte liegen dabei in den Bereichen Bildung im Kontext einer Nachhaltigen Entwicklung sowie Inter- und Transdisziplinarität, hier insb. auf Fragen inter- und transdisziplinärer Bildung sowie der Gestaltung inter- und transdisziplinärer Prozesse. Sie war federführend in der Entwicklung des Konzepts des transversalen Unterrichtens. Seit 2021 leitet sie zum einen die Professur Bildungstheorien und interdisziplinärer Unterricht ad interim sowie das BNE-LAB der Hochschule. Ihre Dissertation, die kurz vor dem Abschluss steht, befasst sich mit der Gestaltung von Entscheidungsprozessen im Kontext einer Nachhaltigen Entwicklung.

Chrysi Rapanta

Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Dr. Chrysi Rapanta arbeitet als Seniorforscherin und Gastprofessorin an der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften und Geisteswissenschaften der Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal. Sie hat einen Doktortitel in Kommunikation von der Università della Svizzera italiana mit Schwerpunkt auf E-Learning-Design und -Entwicklung. Sie hat in Griechenland, Spanien, der Schweiz, den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und Portugal gearbeitet und gelebt. Ihr Hintergrund ist äusserst interdisziplinär und umfasst die Bereiche Kommunikation, Philosophie und Bildung. Seit 2015 führt sie Forschungen im Labor für Argumentation, Kognition und Sprache des NOVA-Instituts für Philosophie durch. Ein Grossteil ihrer Arbeit konzentriert sich auf die Schulung von Lehrern verschiedener Stufen und Disziplinen in konkreten Methoden und Tools, die sie anwenden können, um die Entwicklung kritischer Denkfähigkeiten bei ihren Schülern zu fördern. Ihre Arbeit wurde in renommierten Bildungszeitschriften wie der Review of Educational Research, Teaching and Teacher Education, British Journal of Educational Technology und Educational Psychology Review umfassend veröffentlicht. Sie war die Hauptforscherin in mehreren nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten, die sich auf Themen im Zusammenhang mit dialogischer und argumentationsbasierter Lehre, digitaler Bildung, aktivem Bürgertum und kultureller Bildung konzentrierten Ihr Name erscheint auf der World's Top 2% Scientists List für das Jahr 2021, unterstützt von Scopus.

Gian Piero Quaglino

Università di Torino, IPAP

Prof. Gian Piero Quaglino ist ein bedeutender zeitgenössischer Psychologe, der im Bereich der Psychologie wegweisende Spuren hinterlassen hat. Er verbrachte über dreissig Jahre als ordentlicher Professor für Sozialpsychologie, Dynamische Psychologie und Bildungspsychologie an der Universität von Turin, wo er von 2003 bis 2008 auch Dekan der Fakultät war Im Jahr 2014 gründete er das Institut für Analytische Psychologie und Psychotherapie (IPAP) im Rahmen der Schule für Psychotherapie, in der er die Schule für kontinuierliche Weiterbildung leitet, die Seminare zum Erwachsenenleben und zur persönlichen Entwicklung organisiert.

Quaglino ist ein produktiver Autor von Essays, Handbüchern und Texten, die Literatur und Sachbuch verbinden. Er ist bekannt für seine Veröffentlichungen im Bereich Bildung und Führung, darunter "Fare Formazione" (1985; Neuauflage 2005), "Leadership" (1999), "La scuola della vita, Manifesto della Terza formazione" (2011) und Formazione. I metodi”. (2014). Als leidenschaftlicher Forscher des Denkens von C.G. Jung hat er Sammlungen von Aphorismen herausgegeben und Werke in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Autoren im Bereich der Jung‘schen Psychologie veröffentlicht. Seine Hingabe an die Erforschung der Tiefen der menschlichen Psyche hat ihn zu einer prominenten Figur in der zeitgenössischen Psychologie gemacht.